

Secretariat Post Office Box 344 RUNDLE MALL SA 5000 Telephone: (08) 8226 6191 Facsimile: (08) 8226 7244 E-Mail: secretariat@hcdsmc.sa.gov.au

Mr Colin Waldron Chair Optometry Board of Australia GPO Box 9958 MELBOURNE VIC 3001

AHPRA-MELBOURNE PECEMED - 1 JUN 2012

Dear Mr Waldron

Thank you for your letter of 13 January 2012, recommending that the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council (the AHWMC) approves two registration standards submitted by the Optometry Board of Australia (the Board).

I am pleased to advise that pursuant to section 12 of the *Health Practitioner Regulation National Law Act*, as in force in each State and Territory, the AHWMC decided on 27 April 2012 to approve the following revised registration standards –

(a) General registration for initial applications to take effect on 1 December 2014; and

(b) Limited registration for postgraduate training or supervised practice.

We trust that the AHWMC's approval of the general registration standard now, will ensure that the Board can communicate effectively with optometrists (including overseas trained applicants) and other relevant stakeholders to ensure they are aware of the requirements of the new general registration standard, that the requirements will take effect from 1 December 2014, and address any queries that existing general registrations may have about their registration into the future. We note it is not the Board's intention to require currently (or previously) registered optometrists to undertake therapeutic qualifications to maintain (or regain) their general registration.

We ask that the Board implement the limited registration standard as soon as practicable to provide overseas trained optometrists with the stated improved flexibility to become registered and commence practice at an earlier stage than has been available, while ensuring the continued protection of the public.

Yours sincerely

Michelle O'Byrne M

Chair Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council 21 May 2012



cc: Director Board Services AHPRA, Chris. Robertson@ahpra.gov.au